The Mighty Coconut

coconut5

The current craze for Coconut Oil amongst beauty bloggers and the whole health industry at large is justified. I just hope the good stuff isn’t lost soon in all the endless mass produced cheap alternatives that large companies will start releasing once they sniff out that many of us are now leaning back towards natures’ gold when it comes to how we take care of our skin.

From a very young age, I have been dubious about widely marketed beauty products. Growing up I was fortunately exposed to natural alternatives by my mother, which inevitably grew when I started a job in a herbal health shop and clinic in London. For over a decade now I’ve experimented with natural solutions to cleaning, moisturising, buffing and protecting my skin. At the age of 20 I decided to leave all chemical products that I had been using on my face in favour of pure oils. These ranged from olive, almond and avocado oil to most recently argan and other nut oils. But it was and I think will always be, the coconut oil which pretty much became my beauty staple.

Friends constantly laugh at my obsession with coconut oil. I cannot say it enough, it is wonderful for us and is the best reason to throw away all the chemical junk laboratories that great marketing gurus will convince you into buying because it gives you the ‘summer glow’ or allows you to ooze out your ‘winter nymph’ or makes you look ‘bright awake and younger every day’.

The truth is, we get old, we get wrinkly and we die. But if we want to ‘naturally’ help ourselves, and slow down the appearance of ageing skin and give our body the best flush and blush, nature will always reign as the best solution.

I’m aware many worry that using oils, especially one as rich as coconut oil may make their acne worse or make them break out. It’s not the case – I am not a dermatologist or coconut guru haha, but from my experience I really do feel it is not something that is a reason not to use this oil.  Coconut oil is antimicrobial, antifungal, and antibacterial, so it won’t be the cause for your break out. Those things could be anything from hormones, lifestyle, stress, diet, etc etc

I use coconut oil as an occasional cleanser (other alternatives are olive oil), moisturiser, night cream, rescue cream, on cuts/grazes/spots etc. I alternate with other oils like Olive, Avocado and Almond and also use Aloe Vera Gel (see future blog post on this), but coconut oil is pretty much 90% of my beauty cabinet.  The brand I swear by is Tiana (organic, cold pressed, extra virgin).

Tiana Jar Coconut Oil

Consuming coconuts  as well as using its oil topically is also hugely beneficial. So beauty inside out really doesn’t have to be an expensive drug store bill that leaves your skin dependant and thirsty.

p.s. Your significant other may make jokes about how you smell like a dessert or a holiday drink, but take that as a compliment haha.

See below for a list of ways I use Coconut Oil ❤

1) Makeup remover: Coconut oil will gently remove your makeup. Get some on a cotton pad and rub gently in circles around your eye area to get rid of makeup. Rinse off

2) Hair softener: Use coconut oil as a DIY hair mask to soften your hair and add moisture.  Just scoop out the buttery oil and apply to your hair, focusing on the ends. You can leave it in for 20/30 minutes or if you want sleep with it in overnight. Rinse it out in the shower and shampoo and condition as usual. Feel your hair… super soft and shiny.

3) Moisturiser: It’s amazing as a moisturiser! The fatty acids in coconut oil help to lock in moisture into the skin. Its great for all the rough spots (elbows, heels, knees) and also as a face night cream.

4.) Cuticle oil: For dry cuticles that are looking a bit tired, dab coconut oil. Do this regularly for a week and see the results.

5) Body scrub: Make your own body scrub by combining coconut oil with brown sugar.  The antifungal properties means it’s a good foot scrub. For those suffering from athletes foot, this is great to do every day for 2 weeks instead of buying chemical creams over the counter.

6) Eye cream: Coconut oil is great for hydrating the gentle and incredibly thin skin around your eyes. Not only will it soften the area, it will also decrease signs of wrinkles. Do this every night with your ring finger in gentle motions.

© 2014  Shroomantics ~ Rahima Begum

About shroomantics

Artist, Activist, Maker, Thinker, Creator, Shaker, Nature Lover :) Join my creative journey at shroomantics.wordpress.com

7 comments

  1. Mina K

    I love love luuurrve coconut oil. I cook with it, use it a moisturiser for myself and the kids. I hope the craze makes others aware of how wonderful this product is. I think it smells yum, especially on my kids!

  2. I agree! Its wonderful Mina 😉
    I need to start cooking with it soon, but right now it pretty much covers all beauty needs. Its a great deodrant too apparently. Yet to try that one.

  3. Hazel, pop into your nearest health food store – Neil’s yard, or Planet organic and pick up a cold pressed extra virgin unrefined organic coconut oil. I’d recommend the Tiana one (above). I’ve tried lots over a decade now and would highly recommend this. A tub is 16 GBP and will last you almost 7 months, which is amazing. If you’re not based in UK, I’d recommend you buy it online > http://tiana-coconut.com/virgin_coconut_oil.htm
    Hope that helps 🙂

  4. Pingback: Oily Face Grace | SHROOMANTICS

  5. R Haider

    Oh you clever clever girl. That was such a fantastic read and so informing too.. I will start using it and try to adopt your ways now I know one if the many secrets to your natural beauty. With infinite love for your read RH x

Leave a Reply

