Unfinished…

Mai's Rice Bowl

I told myself in 2011 when I started this collection of paintings, that I would produce 8 to10 canvases, all telling a story about food, love and loss. I produced three and a half, and then life simply did what it does best, distracted me from moving and took me elsewhere.

So I’m back to these pieces. Inspired by Bangladeshi naksha (both embroidery on fabric and patterns on food), the bold Warli Tribal Paintings from the Indian state of Maharashtra, mandalas, and my own obsessive collection of photographs of plates, bowls and bentos of food taken from a clinical birdseye perspective, I wanted these pieces of work to give importance to and celebrate the domestic and the digestible in a way which makes these tools and actions resonate almost as if they were a story of legacies.

Let’s see how long it takes me to finish these now 🙂

Mai's Rice Bowl 2

© 2014  Shroomantices ~ Rahima Begum

About shroomantics

Artist, Activist, Maker, Thinker, Creator, Shaker, Nature Lover :) Join my creative journey at shroomantics.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

