Tales of the Moth & Rabbit

Today I would like to share the work of one of my favourite textile artists. He likes to go by the name of Mister Finch and is, in my opinion, one of the most talented and exciting textiles artists around. I struggle to put into words why I find his craft so magnetic. But I will try…. If all else fails, I’ve gathered images of some of my favourite pieces by him and pasted them below.

Growing up in England, I was exposed to the same things many children my age were in the late eighties and early nineties but I chose to find a refuge in reading and drawing. I was a quiet child and a little ‘away with the fairies’ haha.  I lived in London, but spent my summers lost in the pages of Enid Blyton’s adventures, re-reading Alice in Wonderland and everything that captured the deep woods and forests, nymphs, shrooms and moss that I often imagined the city that I lived in becoming covered by. My imagination was wild and wilder were the images that I would create and was drawn to. Much of this has remained the same now in my adult life.

When I came across Mister Finch, I was instantly hit with nostalgia – an imaginative u-nlived sense of nostalgia and I was drawn into each of his hand made creations. They are playful, delightful and also dark and almost haunting at times. The obvious subjects of nature and British Folklore which are so apparent in his art were inevitable attractions for me, but it was his the sensitive caring approach that he takes to his craft that I find so compelling.

Mister Finch uses recycled materials. He feels that not only does this make an ethical statement, but it enhances the authenticity and charm of each piece. Creating new stories from old… each narrative is sewn into new lives – so velvet curtains from an old hotel, a threadbare wedding dress and a vintage apron become birds and beasts, looking for new owners and adventures to have.

I will end this with a little line from Finch himself about his art, they are ~ storytelling creatures for people who are also a little lost, found and forgotten…

Find out more by visiting his website www.mister-finch.com

© 2014  Shroomantics ~ Rahima Begum

 

About shroomantics

Artist, Activist, Maker, Thinker, Creator, Shaker, Nature Lover :) Join my creative journey at shroomantics.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

