Gudrun’s Green Folk Fashion

With the catwalk taking lots of nods towards folk fashion this year, I wanted to share the work of an accessible and less pretentious Swedish designer Gudrun Sjoden whose focus is rooted in providing comfortable, sustainable, ethical and beautiful clothing. I love her approach to earthy folksy fashion and the way in which she has gone beyond the status quo in not trying to always stay with the ‘trends’, and bring her focus more on what is beautiful to her, and is a reflection of nature’s seasons and what the women who wear her clothes want. Gudrun is, in my eyes, the queen of layering, transforming it into a daily art. Her models are of all ages, shapes and colours, and her brand is unique in being timeless and effortless. There is an obvious bohemian essence to the brands sense of style, but I love that and feel it comes organically in all her collections.

I have selected some of my favorite pieces below and also extracted a few lines from the brand’s approach to fashion, folk, and the environment.

‘Design with a long lifespan – I think this is my most important contribution to a greener, more wonderful world! It has been one of my guiding principles over all these years. My basic belief is that the first priority in minimising negative impact on the environment is not to use so much. I believe that hardwearing clothes in timeless designs that you can wear until they are worn out have the least environmental impact. That’s how I myself want to live and work.’

www.gudrunsjoden.com

© 2014  Shroomantics ~ Rahima Begum

About shroomantics

Artist, Activist, Maker, Thinker, Creator, Shaker, Nature Lover :) Join my creative journey at shroomantics.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

